PART TWO OF THREE

tumblr_inline_mzy56xKKjv1r7ved0.gif

My second internship was at Local Network, Kochi, which is now a part of the big league in Kerala and is giving all national agencies a run for their money.

There I met the legendary Paul Philip, everyone’s beloved Paulettan. My introduction to Paul began way before I joined Local Network.

So before I joined, I spoke to my friends and teachers about the agency and stuff. The moment I mentioned Paul’s name to anybody I could see a sort of divine admiration in their eyes. They would say “Wow! you are in safe hands”.

When I finally met Paul, it took me only a few minutes of interaction to understand  why everyone spoke so highly about him. When Paul started talking to me was like reading this amazing book. I wanted to highlight every word and remember every sentence. To this day, i find it hard to put what I felt in to words because thats how captivated I was by his intelligence. He spoke with so much passion that anybody listening to him would fall in love with advertising.

I joined Local Network with the hopes of gaining experience in the creative department. But Paul suggested that I join the Account executives so I could improve my understanding of the workflow in an agency. Thrilled at the prospect of learning something new, I readily agreed.

I was assigned to a project that involved the branding of a school. we had to create the brand completely from scratch. The most difficult part for me was not knowing where to begin. And I believe many others like me experience this as well. Your mind is let completely loose and your thoughts are free to run in a million directions.

Paul taught me how not to be overwhelmed by the possibilities and gave me a “process”. It starts with creating a brand identity docket of all identified competitors in your category. Then compare them to find a “space” that is less ventured. Align your brand to fit that space and viola! A brand is born! The execution is not as easy as it sounds. But this has helped me immensely in handling projects and setting milestones.

Another important lesson I got to learn from Paul was how to handle a pitch presentation. He demonstrated that everything about the presentation from the ambience, to the visual cues to the worlds spoken must condition the client and prepare him/her to receive the idea. Paul knew exactly how to work this magic. During a pitch, each word he spoke sounded like it was the part of a carefully manipulated script. Of course with his experience it came naturally.

I consider myself extremely lucky to have had the opportunity to work aside such an inspiring character. Thank you Paul for helping me find order in the chaotic world of advertising.
Leave a Reply

